Book Review: Somebody Up There Hates You

Somebody Up There Hates You by Hollis Seamon

Somebody Up There Hates You
by Hollis Seamon

Title: Somebody Up There Hates You
Author: Hollis Seamon
Paperback, 239 pages
Published September 3rd 2013 by Algonquin Young Readers
ISBN 1616202602 (ISBN13: 9781616202606)
Edition Language English
URL http://www.algonquinyoungreaders.com/book/somebody-up-there-hates-you/

Summary:

Chemo, radiation, a zillion surgeries, watching my mom age twenty years in twenty months: if that’s part of the Big Dude’s plan, then it’s pretty obvious, isn’t it? Somebody Up There Hates You.

SUTHY has landed me here in this hospice, where we—that’s me and Sylvie—are the only people under 30 in the whole place, sweartogod. But I’m not dead yet. I still need to keep things interesting. Sylvie, too. I mean, we’re kids, hospice-hostages or not. We freak out visitors; I get my uncle to sneak me out for one insane Halloween night. Stuff like that. And Sylvie wants to make things even more interesting. That girl’s got big plans.

Only Sylvie’s father is so nuclear-blasted by what’s happened to his little girl, he glows orange, I swear. That’s one scary man, and he’s not real fond of me. So we got a major family feud going on, right here in hospice. DO NOT CROSS line running down the middle of the hall, me on one side, her on the other. It’s crazy.

In the middle of all of this, really, there’s just me and Sylvie, a guy and a girl. And we want to live, in our way, by our own rules, in whatever time we’ve got. We will pack in some living before we go, trust me.

My Review:

As soon as I as saw this book, I knew I had to read it. This book was amazing, though very depressing. At times everything is put into perspective. What it’s like, being around the sick for long periods of time. How after a while, you just want to die but you want to live at the same time. Basically, it was hilarious but heart breaking. My favorite character is probably Richard. He had huge character development  throughout the story. Although it was good, it’s a mature read, there are some things that definitely shouldn’t be read by a younger audience. All in all though, it was a good book that deserves recognition.

Favourite Quote:

“This was in the good old days, when monsters were fantasy.”

Happy Reading! 

- Tori :) 

 

Categories: Adult, Contemporary, Family, Humour, Realistic Fiction, Romance, YA Fiction, Young Adult/ Coming of Age, Young Adult/ Teen | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

